About South Sumatera

South Sumatra is one province in Sumatra (Andalas) island that the capital is Palembang. Geographically, South Sumatra is bordering Jambi province on the north, Bangka Belitung in the East, Lampung province in the South and Bengkulu province in the west.

In topography, the land of South Sumatra on the east coast side consists of marshes and brackish which influenced by tides. While, the plants are Palmase and wood swamps (mangrove). In the west, it is vast lowland. Inland side is mountainous territory. There, you will find Bukit Barisan (mountains) that divides South Sumatra and is a mountainous area with an altitude of 900-1200 meters above sea level. Bukit Barisan consists of Mount Seminung, Mount Dempo, Mount Patah and Mount Bengkuk. While the west side of Bukit Barisan is slope area. South Sumatra province has several large rivers. The water spring of most rivers are from Bukit Barisan, except Mesuji River, Lalan River and Banyuasin River. The rivers which has Bukit Barisan water spring and finish in Bangka strait are Musi River, while Ogan river, Komering river, Lematang river, Kelingi river, Lakitan river, Rupit River and Rawas river which is Musi river child.

South Sumatra province since centuries ago also known as ‘The Earth of Sriwijaya’. In the 7th century to the 12th century AD, this region was the center of Sriwijaya kingdom which also known as the largest and strongest maritime kingdom in the archipelago. Echoes and its influence even to Madagascar in Africa. Since the 13th century until 14th century, this area was under the rule of Majapahit. Furthermore, this area had been no man’s land and became pirates nest from abroad, especially from China. At the beginning of 15th century stood Palembang Sultanate that ruling until the arrival of Western colonialism, followed by Japan. When Sriwijaya Kingdom still prevail, the kingdom also appointed Palembang as the capital city of the kingdom.

Administratively, South Sumatra province consists of 13 districts and 4 cities, namely:

  • Ogan Komering Ulu Regency (The capital is Baturaja)
  • Ogan Komering Ulu Timur Regency (The capital is Martapura)
  • Ogan Komering Ulu Selatan Regency (The capital is Muara Dua)
  • Ogan Komering Ilir Regency (The capital is Kayu Agung)
  • Muara Enim Regency (The capital is Muara Enim)
  • Lahat Regency (The capital is Lahat)
  • Musi Rawas Regency (The capital is Lubuk Linggau)
  • Musi Banyuasin Regency (The capital is Sekayu)
  • Banyuasin Regency (The capital is Pangkalan Balai)
  • Ogan Ilir Regency (The capital is Indralaya)
  • Empat Lawang Regency (The capital is Tebing Tinggi)
  • Palembang City (The capital is Palembang)
  • Pagar Alam City (The capital is Pagar Alam)
  • Lubuk Linggau City (The capital is Lubuk Linggau)
  • Prabumulih City (The capital is Prabumulih)
  • Penukal Abab Lematang Ilir Regency (The capital is Talang Ubi))
  • Musi Rawas Utara Regency (The capital is Rupit)

The number of villages in South Sumatra is 343. And the number of districts is 149. In addition, the province has many attractive tourist destinations to visit such as Musi River, Ampera bridge, Kemaro Island, Ranau Lake, Pagar Alam, dozens of waterfalls and other interesting sceneries. While the typical food of the province is very diverse, such as pempek, model, tekwan, catfish caramelized, boiled bones, jokjok chili, berengkes and tempoyak.

Apakah Anda perlu bantuan kami?

Untuk informasi lengkap mengenai wisata Sumatera Selatan silahkan hubungi kami dengan mengikuti tautan berikut ini.

Untuk informasi lengkap silahkan hubungi kami?